Modeling the Pāṇinian System of Sanskrit Grammar
How to cite this title

Mishra, Anand: Modeling the Pāṇinian System of Sanskrit Grammar, Heidelberg: Heidelberg University Publishing, 2019. https://doi.org/10.17885/heiup.294.395

More citation styles
Identifiers
ISBN 978-3-946054-53-5 (PDF)

Published 18.07.2019.

Advance Online Publication. The printed book will be available in bookstores on August 15, 2019.

Statistics


Anand Mishra

Modeling the Pāṇinian System of Sanskrit Grammar

The present work is a study of the Aṣṭādhyāyī of Pāṇini from a new perspective. It attempts to explore the Pāṇinian system of Sanskrit grammar from a formal point of view and investigate the possibilities of representing it in a logical, explicit and consistent manner. It puts forward an appropriate framework for such a representation. Differing from the formulation of Aṣṭādhyāyī, which is composed in an artificial yet natural language and is meant to be employed by individuals who are acquainted both with the Sanskrit language and the techniques of grammar, the present rendering aims for a non-verbal representation in terms of mathematical categories and logical relations which can be implemented in an algorithmic manner.

The formal framework suggested in this work would facilitate adequate tools for postulating and evaluating hypotheses about the grammatical system. Moreover, it would furnish the basis for a computer implementation of the grammar. Both these aspects are objects of enquiry in the field of theoretical studies on Pāṇini as well as the emerging discipline of Sanskrit computational linguistics. This book takes on the ground-work in these areas.

Anand Mishra studied Mathematics at the Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur, India and Computational Linguistics and Classical Indology in Heidelberg. At present, he works as Assistant Professor at the Department of Cultural and Religious History of South Asia, Heidelberg University. His areas of interest include Sanskrit grammar, hermeneutics (Mīmāṃsā) and Vedānta philosophy, especially the Śuddhādvaita of Vallabhācārya.

Contents
PDF
Front Matter
Contents
Abbreviations and Conventions
Preface
Acknowledgements
Chapter 1: Introduction
Chapter 2: System
Chapter 3: Frameworks
Chapter 4: Representations
Chapter 5: Implementation
Appendix: The Systematic Approach
Bibliography

Modeling the Pāṇinian System of Sanskrit Grammar
Empfohlene Zitierweise

Mishra, Anand: Modeling the Pāṇinian System of Sanskrit Grammar, Heidelberg: Heidelberg University Publishing, 2019. https://doi.org/10.17885/heiup.294.395

Weitere Zitierweisen
Identifikatoren
ISBN 978-3-946054-53-5 (PDF)

Veröffentlicht am 18.07.2019.

Advance Online Publication. Das gedruckte Buch ist ab dem 15. August 2019 im Buchhandel erhältlich.

Statistik


Anand Mishra

Modeling the Pāṇinian System of Sanskrit Grammar

Die vorliegende Arbeit untersucht aus einer neuen Perspektive Pāṇinis Aṣṭādhyāyī. Es versucht, Pāṇinis Regelwerk der Sanskrit-Grammatik aus formaler Sicht zu erforschen und die Möglichkeiten zu untersuchen, es logisch, explizit und konsistent darzustellen. Dazu wird ein geeignetes Framework für eine solche Repräsentation vorgeschlagen. Im Unterschied zur Aṣṭādhyāyī, die in einer künstlichen, aber natürlichen Sprache verfasst ist und für Personen konzipiert war, die sowohl mit der Sanskrit-Sprache als auch mit grammatischen Techniken vertraut sind, zielt die vorliegende Darstellung auf eine nonverbale Repräsentation in Form von mathematischen Kategorien und logischen Beziehungen ab, die algorithmisch umgesetzt werden können.

Der in dieser Arbeit vorgeschlagene formale Rahmen würde geeignete Werkzeuge bereitstellen, um Hypothesen zum grammatischen System zu postulieren und zu evaluieren. Darüber hinaus würde er die Grundlage für eine computergestützte Implementierung der Grammatik schaffen. Beide Aspekte sind Forschungsgegenstand im Bereich der theoretischen Studien zu Pāṇini sowie der neu entstehenden Disziplin der Sanskrit-Computerlinguistik. Dieses Buch beschäftigt sich mit der Grundlagenarbeit in diesen Bereichen.

Anand Mishra studierte Mathematik am Indian Institute of Technology in Kanpur, Indien, und Computerlinguistik und Klassische Indologie in Heidelberg. Zurzeit arbeitet er als Wissenschaftlicher Assistent in der Abteilung Kultur und Religionsgeschichte Südasiens am Südasieninstitut der Universität Heidelberg. Zu seinen Forschungsinteressen gehören Sanskritgrammatik, Hermeneutik (Mīmāṃsā) und die Vedānta-Philosophie, insbesondere Vallabhācāryas Śuddhādvaita.

Inhaltsverzeichnis
PDF
Front Matter
Contents
Abbreviations and Conventions
Preface
Acknowledgements
Chapter 1: Introduction
Chapter 2: System
Chapter 3: Frameworks
Chapter 4: Representations
Chapter 5: Implementation
Appendix: The Systematic Approach
Bibliography