The Mulukī Ain of 1854
How to cite this title

Khatiwoda, Rajan, Cubelic, Simon and Michaels, Axel: The Mulukī Ain of 1854: Nepal’s First Legal Code , Heidelberg: Heidelberg University Publishing, 2021 (Documenta Nepalica – Book Series, Vol. 2). https://doi.org/10.17885/heiup.769

More citation styles
Licenses

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License 4.0
(CC BY-SA 4.0)
.
Creative Commons License BY-SA 4.0

Identifiers
ISBN 978-3-96822-035-2 (PDF)
ISBN 978-3-96822-034-5 (Hardcover)

Published 10.06.2021.

Statistics


Rajan Khatiwoda, Simon Cubelic and Axel Michaels

The Mulukī Ain of 1854

Nepal’s First Legal Code

Documenta Nepalica – Book Series

The Mulukī Ain of 1854—the law code with constitutional features drafted at the initiative of Prime Minister Jaṅga Bahādura Rāṇā—is the foundational legal text for modern Nepal. It covers almost every aspect of public, criminal, private and religious law, ranging from the organisation of the state and courts to murder and other delicts, the workings of the caste system and the joint family, matters of purity and penance, customary law, widow-burning and witchcraft. As such, the Mulukī Ain is a unique source not only for the political, social and economic life of 19th-century Nepal, but also for the place of traditional Hindu jurisprudence in South Asian legal cultures.

Rajan Khatiwoda is chief coordinator at the Nepal Heritage Documentation Project at Heidelberg University, Simon Cubelic is research fellow at the Heidelberg Academy of Sciences and Humanities, Axel Michaels is Senior Professor of Indology at Heidelberg University. Their research focuses on the intellectual history of legal and political thought in Sanskrit and Nepālī, especially in the 18th and 19th centuries.

Contents
PDF
Front matter
Contents
Patrick Olivelle
Foreword
Saubhagya Pradhananga
Foreword
Preface
Abbreviations
Introduction
Translation
Glossary
References

The "Mulukī Ain" of 1854
Empfohlene Zitierweise

Khatiwoda, Rajan, Cubelic, Simon und Michaels, Axel: The "Mulukī Ain" of 1854: Nepal’s First Legal Code , Heidelberg: Heidelberg University Publishing, 2021 (Documenta Nepalica – Book Series, Band 2). https://doi.org/10.17885/heiup.769

Weitere Zitierweisen
Lizenz

Dieses Werk ist unter der
Creative Commons-Lizenz 4.0
(CC BY-SA 4.0)
veröffentlicht.
Creative Commons Lizenz BY-SA 4.0

Identifikatoren
ISBN 978-3-96822-035-2 (PDF)
ISBN 978-3-96822-034-5 (Hardcover)

Veröffentlicht am 10.06.2021.

Statistik


Rajan Khatiwoda, Simon Cubelic und Axel Michaels

The "Mulukī Ain" of 1854

Nepal’s First Legal Code

Documenta Nepalica – Book Series

Der Mulukī Ain von 1854, das erste Gesetzbuch Nepals, gehört zu den bedeutendsten Werken der modernen nepalesischen Rechtsgeschichte. Vom Staatsaufbau und Gerichtswesen über Tötungs- und Eigentumsdelikte bis hin zu Kasten- und Reinheitsvorschriften werden nahezu alle Aspekte des Straf- und Privatrechts, des öffentlichen, religiösen und Gewohnheitsrechts eingehend behandelt. Dadurch ist der Mulukī Ain nicht nur eine einzigartige Quelle für das politische, gesellschaftliche und wirtschaftliche Leben in Nepal zur Zeit des 19. Jahrhunderts, sondern auch für die Stellung der hinduistischen Jurisprudenz in den Rechtskulturen Südasiens.

Rajan Khatiwoda ist Wissenschaftlicher Koordinator am Nepal Heritage Documentation Project der Universität Heidelberg, Simon Cubelic ist wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter an der Heidelberger Akademie der Wissenschaften, Axel Michaels ist Senior Professor für Indologie an der Universität Heidelberg. Ihre Forschung konzentriert sich auf die Geschichte des Rechts- und politischen Denkens in Sanskrit und Nepālī mit den Schwerpunkten 18. und 19. Jahrhundert.

Inhaltsverzeichnis
PDF
Front matter
Contents
Patrick Olivelle
Foreword
Saubhagya Pradhananga
Foreword
Preface
Abbreviations
Introduction
Translation
Glossary
References